Dallas | Tarrant | Collin | Denton

Bond Office Hours

We Write Bail Bonds 24/7


Were You Caught Driving an Unregistered Vehicle?

If you recently moved to the state of Texas and haven’t registered your car, or if your registration expired months ago, you are driving your vehicle illegally. The penalties vary depending on how long you have been driving an unregistered vehicle, whether it’s ever been registered, or if you just don’t have the proof of registration when you are pulled over. You could face a fine, traffic citations, or even arrest. If you have been unfortunate enough to get arrested, you don’t have to face it all alone. Get in touch with A-EZ Out Bail Bonds, and we can grant you a speedy release. That way, you can gather the proper defense for court.

Driving Without Registration vs. Driving Without Proof of Registration

Although the two scenarios sound fairly similar, the consequences can be completely different. In every state, it is illegal to drive a vehicle that is not registered with the department of motor vehicles. This means that if you live in Texas, but your vehicle isn’t registered in Texas, you are driving it illegally and could possibly face arrest. 

If your car was registered but expired, you are also driving it illegally. You either failed to pay the fees and necessary filing or failed to renew it. 

However, if your car is registered but you don’t carry the proof with you, that can also get problematic. If you can’t immediately prove that the vehicle is registered and legal to drive, it may upset the authorities. Although, you may simply face a citation or fine. To play it safe, it’s best to carry the proof of registration in your vehicle at all times.

How Long Is Too Long?

With a majority of people moving to Texas recently, it can be difficult to schedule an appointment with the DMV office that isn’t months out. Sadly, the grace period for an unregistered vehicle ended in April of 2021. Therefore, any vehicle that isn’t registered is operating illegally, and you can suffer the consequences. The best thing to do is to schedule the next available DMV appointment and drive as minimal as possible. Comply with all the rules to avoid getting pulled over.

The consequences for driving an unregistered vehicle are greater when a large amount of time has passed. The timeframe is around 6 months or more. When you move to Texas, you have 30 days to register your car without a penalty. After that, it’s the luck of the draw. 

A-EZ Out Bail Bonds Can Help You Navigate Arrest

If you have been arrested for driving an unregistered vehicle, get in touch with A-EZ Out Bail Bonds today. Our bondsmen know the ins and outs of the justice system and can grant you a speedy release. From there, you can find a lawyer of your choosing, and build up a defense for your court date. Our team will be with you through every step and will help you navigate the bail process. Give us a call today to learn more about the ways that we can help get your life back on track!

Contact An Agent
Scroll to Top