When you are having a great time with your friends and family, you might have one too many drinks before having to drive, or worse yet, you might be underaged. Whatever the case may be, the law doesn’t take these offenses lightly. Authorities are more alert for impaired drivers during the summer months because they know that there are more festivities and events that take place. When you get pulled over, you can either get a DUI or a DWI in Texas. But what’s the difference?
Knowing the Difference Between a DUI and DWI
In Texas, both a DUI and a DWI refer to an individual that is driving or operating a vehicle while they are intoxicated. This means that the person lacks the mental and physical faculties because they are either on drugs or alcohol. Here in Texas, when you get pulled over for being intoxicated, the legal term is “DWI.” Yet, you might hear “DUI” used interchangeably.
If a person is 21 years of age or older, they can be charged with a DWI if they are driving after drinking or taking drugs. The alcohol concentration level has to be at least .08 blood or breath alcohol concentration or just impaired by drugs.
However, anyone that is under the age of 21, can get charged with a DUI if they have any trace of alcohol in their system. That’s the only time DUI is used as the legal term. Yet, a minor can still be charged with a DWI if their blood or breath alcohol concentration level is .08 or higher, or if they are under the influence of drugs.
Which Offense Is Worse in Texas?
Whether a DUI or DWI is worse depends on the state. A DWI in Texas is a more serious offense than a DUI. You can only get a DUI if you are a minor. However, it is a lot easier to get a DUI because the amount of alcohol you have consumed doesn’t matter. As long as there is any sign of it in your system and you are a minor, you can get charged with a DUI. You can deal with fines up to $500, have to do community service, and your license might be suspended.
Meanwhile, a DWI is charged under the Texas Penal Code. The penalties can range from heavy fines to jail time. If it’s a first-time DWI offense, you can have fines up to $2,000 and spend up to 180 days in jail. Although the consequences of a DWI are more severe, neither charge should be taken lightly.
Get a Speedy Release with A-EZ Out Bail Bonds
If you need a bail bond for a DUI or DWI in Texas, A-EZ Out Bail Bonds has you covered. We service the Dallas-Fort Worth area and our bondsmen work 24/7 for your convenience. As soon as you call, our bondsmen will start working on your case. Everyone makes mistakes and we are here to help you get your life back on track.